Global Citizenship

2017 Volunteer Leadership Awards

Each year, White & Case honors a select group of individuals with our Volunteer Leadership Awards in recognition of their substantial contributions to our charitable and community projects. The following people were recognized in 2017 for work over the prior 12 months.

We also give awards for Pro Bono, which you can view here.


Radoslav Palka (Bratislava)
For support of legal education programs, including serving as a judge in the Slovak Jessup National Competition.

Mark Powell (Brussels)
For overall commitment to social responsibility initiatives, including ongoing support to raise funds and awareness for cancer research through cycling competitions.

Martin Möllmann and Charlotte Van Haute (Brussels)
For overall commitment to social responsibility initiatives, including the partnership with SOS Children’s Villages to help improve the conditions in Uganda’s juvenile rehabilitation institution, the Kampiringisa National Rehabilitation Centre.

Kathrin Gutermuth (Frankfurt)
For spearheading volunteer work with refugees through fundraising efforts for a family from Macedonia and donation drives for local NGOs.

Lara Sezerler (Istanbul)
For serving as the national administrator for the Turkey Jessup National Competition.

Rosanna Bibis (Johannesburg)
For serving as the national administrator for the South African Jessup National Competition.

Giuseppe Cocca (London)
For spearheading eco-friendly programs in the London office, including the "Bin the Bin" campaign.

Disha Chandrachu, Steven Houckham-West and Paula Waite (London)
For consistent fundraising and organizational support for the London Office Charity Partner.

James Whiteley (London)
For delivering presentation skills workshops at our Employability Skills Day to individuals supported by our social responsibility programs, such as PRIME and Only Connect.

Alex Smith (London)
For dedicated participation in our social responsibility programs, including serving as a tour guide of the Royal Courts of Justice.

Jessica Hughs (London)
For providing extensive human resources expertise to a local charity.

Anna Hart (London)
For dedicated service to the Independent Monitoring Board of a London-based prison, monitoring the rights and welfare of inmates.

Jeremy Ford (London)
For ongoing marketing strategy, social media, sponsor and media relations for Team Rwanda, the nonprofit national cycling team of Rwanda.

Elizabeth Kirk (New York)
For organizing a trivia night to raise funds for NGOs fighting homelessness as part of the NY Lawyers Committee Impact Week.

Neeraj Shah (New York)
For spearheading fundraising efforts to support NGOs fighting homelessness as part of the NY Lawyers Committee Impact Week.

Antolino Alvarez, Debra Goldfarb and May Yip (New York)
For ongoing support of Her Justice through an annual Stair Climb event.

Elmira Shamayeva (Nur-Sultan)
For organizing a range of charitable initiatives, including fundraising efforts for three local families in need of medical services.

Kim Ha (Paris)
For spearheading support for a range of charitable efforts, including fundraising drives and volunteer efforts for orphans and the disabled.

Stephanie Sun (Shanghai)
For taking the lead in volunteer events to benefit a nursing home and an NGO that serves underprivileged children.

Patricia Chng, Verona Huang and Christina Lui (Singapore)
For dedication to social responsibility efforts, including office support of local charities and environmental sustainability programs.

Noorliza Mohd Ali (Singapore)
For spearheading volunteer events for a children's charity and fundraising efforts for a range of local causes.

Ruel Forbes (Tampa)
For overall commitment and dedication to volunteering initiatives.

Chikako Fujii (Tokyo)
For organizing office participation in several charity races, a holiday toy drive, and an internship program for two high school students affected by the Great Tohoku Earthquake.

Jeffrey Stellhorn (Washington DC)
For overall commitment to social responsibility efforts, including the Polar Bear Plunge and Walk to End HIV.

Cindy Maimone (Washington DC)
For running the weekly DC Denim Day Program.

Liz Whitley (Washington DC)
For serving as the liaison with Bread for the City and spearheading work on the DC Docket.

Matt Frutig and Kyle Swenson (Washington DC)
For organizing a team for the annual Dragon Boat Race to benefit the National Veterans Legal Services Program.

Kaigh Johnson (Washington DC)
For overall support of social responsibility initiatives, including a park renovation and donation drives.


Click here to view the most recent White & Case Volunteer Leadership Awards