Awards & Ranking
Burton Award for Legal Achievement

Owen Pell Wins 2014 Burton Award for Wall Street Journal Op-Ed Article

White & Case partner Owen Pell (New York) has been named a recipient of a 2014 Burton Award for Legal Achievement. In its 15th year, the Burton Awards recognize the finest in legal writing. Pell also won a Burton Award in 2003 and is the Firm's first two-time winner. White & Case has won a Burton Award every year since 2001, the only firm to be recognized consistently for the past 13 years.

Pell, a partner in the Firm's Global Commercial Litigation Practice, co-authored an op-ed article with J.D. Bindenagel, a former special envoy for Holocaust issues at the State Department. The winning article, "How to Handle that Nazi-Era Trove," appeared in the November 18, 2013, edition of The Wall Street Journal and discusses how Germany should address issues surrounding art collections looted from Jews during the Holocaust and outlines specific steps to be taken in relation to a recently discovered trove of looted art. To read the entire article, please see:

Pell has counseled clients on issues pertaining to Holocaust-looted art and presented a public lecture to the New York State Court of Appeals on this issue. He also helped formulate a proposal for creating a title-clearing and dispute resolution entity to address claims relating to works of art looted during the Holocaust. The European Parliament adopted a resolution supporting further study of the proposal, and Pell subsequently was the only private lawyer on the US delegation to the June 2009 Prague Conference on Holocaust Era Assets, and he continues to advise the State Department on Holocaust property issues.

The Burton Awards is funded by the Burton Foundation, a non-profit, academic effort devoted to recognizing and rewarding excellence in the legal profession. Nominations are submitted by law firms and include exemplary articles that have been published by their lawyers during the past year. Out of the 1,000 largest law firms in the United States, only 30 winners are selected each year.